BlackBerry Z10 May Accidentally Share When You’re Watching Porn

Published:11:52 am EDT, April 4, 2013| Updated:11:52 am EDT, April 4, 2013|
By
BlackBerry Z10, BlackBerry Z10 porn, BlackBerry Z10 porn glitch, BlackBerry Z10 porn messenger, BlackBerry porn, BlackBerry porn glitch, BlackBerry messenger porn glitch, BlackBerry Z10 messenger porn glitch, blackberry shares porn history, bbm porn, bbm z10 porn, bbm z10 porn history, bbm z10 watching porn, watching porn blackberry, watching porn blackberry z10

(via edans/Flickr)

A setting in the new BlackBerry Z10's messaging system means that users may unintentionally broadcast their porn preferences to their contacts.

There's an option on the new device that allows users to share what music they're listening to with their BlackBerry Messenger (BBM) contacts. Since music and videos sometimes share the same media player, users may unknowingly be broadcasting their private browsing history with others, BlackBerry blog CrackBerry noted.

"In BlackBerry 10, videos played in the browser invoke the media player when played, thus triggering as a 'music' update," they posted.

"So many videos that you play from within the browser will be shown as music status updates on BBM — this goes for any videos that you may want to be kept private as well."

A spokesperson told Mashable, "The 'update your status' feature is off by default, so users would need to choose to turn this on. Also, users are not sharing content to other users, they are only sharing the title of what is being played."

There is a fairly simple way to turn off this sharing, as BlackBerryOS.com explains – just follow the steps below.

1) While in BBM, open the Settings menu
2) Toggle "Show What I'm Listening To" so it reads Off
3) Tap Back to save

Respond to this

More Tech you need to know